Finding a Home at Purple Fountain Courtyard Inn

Being on the road for almost 8 hours from El Nido has taken its toll on us. I and my companions were all looking forward to arrive at our accommodation in Puerto Princesa so we can have a decent rest before our flight for the next day.

I found Purple Fountain Courtyard Inn months ago when I was looking for our home base while in Puerto Princesa. And while the rates are slightly higher than the accommodation rates I was used to, I fell in love with the place and immediately booked a night with them.

Since there were 5 of us, Purple Courtyard gave us the family suite which cost Php 3,740 per night. I inquired and confirmed our reservation through email. There was a bit of back and forth as I had several questions but the staff patiently answered all my queries within 24-48 hours. I paid the downpayment through Paypal and they immediately sent me a confirmation of our reservation.

Purple Fountain is a few minutes away from Puerto Princesa International Airport. It isn’t hard to miss as they have a large signage in front of the establishment. Upon arriving, we were directed to the front desk to register and the staff promptly took our bags to our room. I was so happy to discover that the place looked exactly like the pictures they have on their website. The place was so colorful and felt so relaxing that I immediately felt at home.

view from the receiving area

view from the receiving area

these are the standard rooms I think

these are the standard rooms I think

When I entered our room, my heart was a goner. If I ever have a room of my own, I’ll use Purple Fountain’s design as my inspiration. My friends even told me that it fits my personality ๐Ÿ™‚

Our room consisted of 1 double bed, 2 single beds and a sofa bed. The room was spacious enough that we didn’t bump into each other whenever we go around the room fixing our things. I wanted to sleep in the sofa bed but Shiela was there first. I just borrowed one of her pillows for the night.

the view from the door. I took the bed on the leftmost corner - well away from the aircon

the view from the door. I took the bed on the leftmost corner – well away from the aircon ๐Ÿ˜€

I absolutely love all the details in our room – the window shades, paintings, picttures, wall paint colors and even the flooring. Can I have a room like this pretty please? It’s definitely different from the usual hotels. I love that it has its own quirkiness.

the view from my side of the bed. Now you can see the sofa bed here

the view from my side of the bed. Now you can see the sofa bed here

I also love our bathroom (I accidentally deleted the pictures though). It was clean and the shower was equipped with a water heater. The only let-down was that the toilet didn’t have a bidet. Aside from the clean bathroom, our room also had a TV, microwave and refrigerator. So convenient if we wanted to order take out and eat in our room ๐Ÿ™‚

our TV, microwave and mini ref

our TV, microwave and mini ref

During early evening, one of the staff knocked on our room to ask for our preferences for breakfast. We had a choice among American, Continental and Filipino breakfast. For drinks, our options were coffee, tea and chocolate. I decided to go for hot chocolate and a Filipino breakfast of baconsilog. The staff also asked for the time when we would take our breakfast and we specified 7:30 AM to give us time to prepare for our flight the next day.

After resting for a bit, I went out of our room and explored a bit.

that gazebo is a perfect place to relax, don't you think? :)

that gazebo is a perfect place to relax, don’t you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

this is what our room looked like on the outside. But ours was located at the corner.

this is what our room looked like on the outside. But ours was located at the corner.

We wanted to go out for the night but we were all still tired so we decided to eat at their restaurant – the White Fence Country Cafe. We actually saw a picture of one of their dishes when we arrived that made our mouths water. It was a big factor that convinced to eat dinner there.

It was hard choosing from their menu because everything looked and sounded so delicious. The are many choices and having to pick just one when you’re very hungry is tough. We helped out each other in choosing our meals and waited for our orders. Each table is equipped with a bell so the waiters can attend to our needs promptly.

We were seated near the entrance. Guests immediately see this when they arrive. I adore the knicknacks.

And this is what the restaurant looks like. There is another section just behind the door on the right. Aircon was too cold there so we stayed where we are.

And this is what the restaurant looks like. There is another section just behind the door on the right. Aircon was too cold there so we stayed where we are.

Once our food arrived, all my concentration was focused on plate. Everything was so yummy! Jella ordered the Tomato Basil Parmesan pasta and she said that it was the best tomato-based pasta she has tried.

Tomato Basil Parmesa - Php 235

Tomato Basil Parmesan – Php 155

Shiela and I ordered the Taco Rice Plate. I bathed mine in hot sauce. The rice was heaven. I wanted to order an extra serving of it.

Taco Rice Plate - Php 165

Taco Rice Plate – Php 158

And the star of our night – especially for Rhan and Jema who ordered this – was the Smoky Backyard Burger with bacon and cheese. The serving was huge so it was bit messy to eat but I can see Rhan and Jema enjoying every bite. I’ll definitely order this when I return. This was also the picture we saw when we arrived. It definitely lived up to our expectations!

Smoky Backyard Burger (with bacon & cheese) - Php 248

Smoky Backyard Burger (with bacon & cheese) – Php 248

For dessert, we ordered Churros Con Tsokolate and asked the staff if we can eat it at the gazebo. They said yes and we stayed there until late at night just talking about random stuff. At about 9:30 PM, one of the waiters approached us and asked if we had anything else to order. The restaurant was closing and they were taking the last orders. It reminded us that we haven’t asked for our bill yet ๐Ÿ˜›

Tsurros Con Tsokolate - Php 125

Tsurros Con Tsokolate – Php 125

dessert at the gazebo <3

dessert at the gazebo โค

After a good night’s sleep we woke up near 7:30 AM to grudgingly prepare for our flight. A staff knocked on our door to remind us of our breakfast and after a few minutes headed to White Fence to find that a table has already been laid out for us. It didn’t take 5 minutes before our breakfast was served. They are so prompt and efficient!

After going back to our room and preparing for the trip back to Manila, we informed the front desk that we were ready to check out. The process was a breeze and their driver was already waiting when were done to take us to the airport. And that ended our El Nido + Puerto Princesa trip. But we promised that we would return soon ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Finding a Home at Purple Fountain Courtyard Inn

Leave a Reply

